Latest News, Articles, Fixtures & Results about Rugby

Rugby is said to have originated at Rugby School in Warwickshire, England, in 1823 when during a game of football, William Webb Ellis decided to pick up a ball and go with it. Although there is very little evidence to support this theory, the Rugby World Cup Trophy is now named after William Webb Ellis. Top teams in the world include New Zealand, England, South Africa, Australia, Wales, Ireland & France.

Super Rugby trophy will have no winner etched on it as the coronavirus sweeping the world.

History Of The Rugby World Cup Trophy that's one of the most global sporting competitions in the world.

We take a quick look through the Rugby World Cup winners of the past eight tournaments.

The possibility of the European Six Nations rugby tournament expanding to include world champions, South Africa.

Eddie Jones has signed a new contract with England to keep him in charge until the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

In 1995 the greatest star rugby union has ever seen was launched on the world.

Meet the LEGEND

World’s greatest ever XV team

9. Gareth Edwards (Wales)

The former Wales and British and Irish Lions scrum-half is simply the greatest player in his position in history. Edwards is also considered by many to be one of the greatest rugby players of all time.

1. Jason Leonard (England)

Leonard was 21 when he debuted in 1990, the first of what would become a record 119 caps for both England and the British & Irish Lions.

2. Keith Wood (Ireland) 

The force of nature Wood was a dominant figure in the Irish front row.

15. Serge Blanco (France) 

The French icon’s international career with France saw the flamboyant fullback perform various outlandish levels of skill while winning Five Nation Grand Slams in 1981 and 1987 as well as four further titles.

14. Jonah Lomu (New Zealand)

The New Zealander remains the joint all-time top try scorer at the Rugby World Cup along with Bryan Habana, crossing the whitewash on 15 different occasions across the 1995 and 1999 tournaments.

13. Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) 

The former Ireland and British and Irish Lions Skipper Brian O’Driscoll was one of the most consistent performers in the world for over a decade.

12. Tim Horan (Australia) 

Only a handful of players has won the Rugby World Cup Twice and power-packed runner Tim Horan is one of them, triumphing in 1991 and 1999 with Australia.

11. David Campese (Australia) 

Capped by Australia on more than 100 occasions and scorer of 64 international tries, David Campese was once the world’s top scorer, but now has to settle for the honour of second place.

10. Jonny Wilkinson (England) 

Forever remembered as the man whose last-gasp drop-goal won England the Rugby World Cup by edging past the hosts in Australia in 2003.

3. Phil Vickery (England) 

For more than a decade Phil Vickery was regarded as England’s premier tight head prop, a reputation which reached its zenith when he was appointed the national team’s captain by Brian Ashton in January 2007.

4. Martin Johnson (England)

Iconic England legend Johnson is widely regarded as one of the greatest locks to have ever played the game.

5. John Eales (Australia) 

Perfect is a hard word to describe someone as but John Eales was not far off.

6. Francois Pienaar (South Africa)

Springbok Captain Pienaar is famous for leading South Africa to triumph in the World Cup in 1995.

7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand) 

The former All Black Captain McCaw is one of the true rugby greats, moulding a career as the best flanker of all time.

8. Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand)

He was an effective forward but also had top-class handling skills and a trustworthy boot making him quite the unique player.






Megan Markle.jpg
Film Slate Marker
hailer bieber.jpg
Kim Kardashian.jpg

© 2020 by Tags & Chats Articles, News and Celebrity Gossip  

Proudly created by WSS

  • YouTube
  • Tags and Chats Pinterest
  • Tags and Chats Twitter
  • Tags & Chats Facebook Page